Artworks

Dolos, 2014Acryl12' × 12' × 12'

Wie oft denkt man über die Verwundbarkeit der gebauten Umwelt nach, trotz jüngst verheerender Naturkatastrophen? Inspiriert von solchen Ereignissen – vor allem Superstorm Sandy – Jordan Griskas Dolos zielt darauf ab, Verletzlichkeit ans Licht zu bringen, indem es uns daran erinnert, wie schnell und unvorhersehbar vertraute Landschaften bedroht werden – und bedrohlich.

Seit den 1960er Jahren werden Dolosse in Städten auf der ganzen Welt eingesetzt, um Uferpromenaden vor Wellenerosion zu schützen. Typischerweise handelt es sich um massive, ineinandergreifende Betonstrukturen, deren imposante und substanzielle Formen Wellenenergie zerstreuen und ablenken können. Griskas Singular Dolos, ist jedoch allein, aus durchsichtigem Plexiglas gefertigt und am Ufer des East River aufgestellt.

Für manche Griskas Dolos kann einfach eine ästhetisch ansprechende Installation am Wasser sein; aber für diejenigen, die sich dessen bewusst sind Dolos Referenz, seine materielle Zerbrechlichkeit und Undurchführbarkeit weist auf die Grenzen unserer menschlichen Fähigkeiten gegen Naturkatastrophen hin.

Vorführung

7. September 2014 – 22. März 2015 EAF14

Jordan Griska

    Exhibition: EAF14, 2014

    Dolos, 2014

    Acrylic

    12’ x 12’ x 12’

    How often does one consider the vulnerability of the built environment, even despite recently devastating natural disasters? Inspired by such events – most notably Superstorm Sandy – Jordan Griska’s Dolos aims to bring vulnerability to light by reminding us of how quickly and unpredictably familiar landscapes become threatened – and threatening.

    Since the 1960’s, dolosse have been used in cities across the globe to protect waterfronts from wave erosion. Typically they are massive, interlocking concrete structures, whose imposing and substantial forms can dissipate and deflect wave energy. Griska’s singular Dolos, however, is alone, made from clear Plexiglass, and set along the bank of the East River.

    To some, Griska’s Dolos may simply be an aesthetically pleasing waterfront installation; but for those who are aware of Dolos's reference, its material fragility and impracticability portends the limits of our human capabilities against natural disasters.

    <—BACK  |  NEXT—>


    SOCRATES SCULPTURE PARK
    PO Box 6259, 32-01 Vernon Boulevard
    Long Island City, NY 11106
    T 718 956 1819 / F 718 626 1533
Socrates is open 365 days a year from 9am to sunset.
on
Currently ° and at Socrates
Socrates is open 365 days a year from 10am to sunset.