學生

Christopher Bisram、Johnaila Cole、Michela Farella、Sohit Gurung、Farzana Ibrahim、Anabella Orellana、Kate Panasci、Aneesa Razak 和 Laura Umana

導師

蘇格拉底首席教育家道格拉斯·保爾森

認識 2019-2020 蘇格拉底人 –>

藝術品

“缺少什麼”和“紀念碑解碼器”雜誌,2020 年
2019-2020 蘇格拉底人,“缺什麼”,2020,由藝術家提供,圖片由 Sara Morgan 提供。

關於“缺少什麼”

2020
膠合板; 乙烯基塑料; 和鏡面有機玻璃
12 x 8 x 8 英尺

對於 ' 的第三部分和最後一部分現在的紀念碑'展覽,'下一代',當地高中生參加公園的藝術教育計劃 蘇格拉底 共同實現了一個名為“缺少什麼”的紀念碑裝置。

蘇格拉底紀念碑的外牆展示了紐約市各種克里斯托弗·哥倫布雕像的現場照片,構成了四個形狀像哥倫布剪影的空地——人們可以通過這些空間進入。 鏡像內部提供了一個反思公共空間和可見性或不可見性的社會結構如何塑​​造集體意識的場所。

關於“紀念碑解碼器”“Zine”

Socrateens 還創建了一個名為“紀念碑解碼器”的雜誌,來自他們在社區中進行的與紀念碑相關的研究以及他們自己對該主題的想法和意見。 'zine 以有限的印刷數量或在線免費提供 立即註冊.

展覽

10 年 2020 月 4 日 – 2021 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日 “現在的紀念碑”——第三部分:“下一代”2019-2020 蘇格拉底

Students

Christopher Bisram, Johnaila Cole, Michela Farella, Sohit Gurung, Farzana Ibrahim, Anabella Orellana, Kate Panasci, Aneesa Razak, and Laura Umana

Teacher

Socrates Lead Educator Douglas Paulson

Meet the 2019–2020 Socrateens –>

Artworks

‘What’s Missing’ & ‘Monuments Decoder’ ‘Zine, 2020
The 2019-2020 Socrateens, ‘What’s Missing,’ 2020, Courtesy the Artist, Image by Sara Morgan.

About ‘What’s Missing’

2020
Plywood; vinyl; and mirrored plexiglass
12 x 8 x 8 feet

For the third and final part of the ‘MONUMENTS NOW‘ exhibition, ‘The Next Generation,’ local high school students participating in the Park’s art-education program Socrateens collectively realized a monument installation titled ‘What’s Missing.’

The outer walls of the Socrateens’ monument present site photographs of various Cristopher Columbus statues in New York City, framing four empty spaces shaped like Columbus’ silhouette – through which people can enter. The mirrored interior provides a place for reflection on how public space and social constructs of visibility or invisibility can shape collective consciousness.

About ‘Monuments Decoder’ ‘Zine

The Socrateens have also created a ‘zine titled ‘Monuments Decoder,’ drawing from monuments-related research they conducted in the community and their own thoughts and opinions on the topic. The ‘zine is freely available in limited print quantities or online HERE.

Exhibition