Field Guide 2021

Explore Socrates’ unique environment with a series of experimental workshops that combine art making with natural materials, gardening, experiments in sustainability, that celebrate the senses.

Workshops weave together planting, drawing, sound recording, plant and tree identification, learning about medicinal properties of indigenous plants, pickling, bookmaking, and experiments in bioplastics. These workshops will also explore mindfulness techniques, seeking to grow our shared awareness of the natural cycles of the park, and our senses.

The series will result in a book: Field Guide, A Community-made Book of Knowledge, that will be both a collaborative artwork and a guide to the ecology of the park.

These workshops are free, hands on, open to all ages, families and individuals, and any skill level.  

 

Planting Healing, Pickling, & Pigment Gardens #1–>

Saturday, May 1

With Educators Anna Poaster of Hellgate Farm & Kim Calichio of The Connected Chef

          

Planting Healing, Pickling, & Pigment Gardens #2–>

Saturday, May 8

With Educators Anna Poaster of Hellgate Farm & Kim Calichio of The Connected Chef

           

Seeing Spring–>

Saturday, May 22

With Socrates Director of Education Douglas Paulson & Educator Christina Delfico of iDig2Learn

         

Our Ears Will Guide Us–>

Saturday, June 5

With Socrates Director of Eduction Douglas Paulson & Educator Jeannette Rodriguez-Pineda

          

Deep Listening & Sonic Meditation–>

Saturday, June 12

With Socrates Director of Education Douglas Paulson and Educator Jeannette Rodriguez-Pineda

          

 

Propagation – Take The Park Home With You!–>

Saturday, June 26

With Educators Anna Poaster of Hellgate Farm & Kim Calichio of The Connected Chef

          

Healing #1–>

Saturday, July 10

With Educators Jeannette Rodriguez-Pineda & Kim Calichio of The Connected Chef

          

The Shape of Wind–>

Saturday, July 17

With Socrates Director of Eduction Douglas Paulson & Educator Jeannette Rodriguez-Pineda

        

Healing #2–>

Saturday, July 24

With Educator Jeannette Rodriguez-Pineda

       

Seeing Summer–>

Saturday August 7

With Socrates Director of Eduction Douglas Paulson & Educator Christina Delfico of iDig2Learn

        

Making Inks from Plants–>

Saturday, August 14

With Socrates Director of Eduction Douglas Paulson & Educator Jeannette Rodriguez-Pineda

        

Making Bioplastics & Bio-Fashion Show–>

Saturday, August 21

With Socrates Director of Eduction Douglas Paulson & Educator Jeannette Rodriguez-Pineda

       

Seeds–>Seeds & Paper Making Workshop

Saturday, September 11

With Educator Jeannette Rodriguez-Pineda & Kim Calichio of The Connected Chef

Seeing Fall–>

Saturday, September 18

With Socrates Director of Eduction Douglas Paulson & Educator Christina Delfico of iDig2Learn

Prepare for Winter–>

Saturday September 25

With Kim Calichio of The Connected Chef