On Thursday, September 27, 2018 Socrates Sculpture Park honored acclaimed artist Ursula von Rydingsvard alongside philanthropists Jayne and Leonard Abess as part of the Park’s 2018 Annual Benefit Gala. Nearly 400 guests came together to celebrate these three individuals who reflect the Park’s mission to support artists and their creative endeavors, to cultivate a sustainable environment on our urban waterfront, and to provide accessible and impactful programming for our Queens community.


At the event, sales of a special limited edition, ‘Material Circle’ by Meg Webster, raised funds for improvements to the Park’s landscape. To inquire about the edition, please email gala@socratessculpturepark.org


The 2018 gala was hosted at Mark di Suvero’s magnificent waterfront studio in Long Island City, where guests mingled on the pier and enjoyed boat excursions on the East River.

“New York’s art glitterati was out in force for the Socrates Sculpture Park annual benefit gala… di Suvero delivered a stirring speech. ‘This world is so divisive but art holds us together,’ the artist said.” – The Art Newspaper>>

From left to right: Socrates 2018 Gala Honoree, Ursula von Rydingsvard; Sculptor and founder of Socrates Sculpture
Park, Mark di Suvero; Socrates 2018 Gala Honorees, Leonard & Jayne Abess; and Socrates Sculpture Park Executive
Director, John Hatfield.


The Annual Benefit Gala raises critical funds that directly support a year’s worth of programs, operations, and maintenance at Socrates Sculpture Park, allowing us to support artists and produce free arts programming serving more than 200,000 people annually.


Joel Shapiro
Mark di Suvero
Sarah Sze

Jayne & Leonard Abess*
Bloomberg Philanthropies*
Paula Cooper*
Mark di Suvero*
The Durst Organization*
Plant Specialists

Norma & Irma Braman
Maxine & Stuart Frankel Foundation*
Robert F. Goldrich & The Leon Levy Foundation*
Agnes Gund*
The Kayden Family*
Richard & Ronay Menschel*
Nancy A. Nasher & David J. Haemisegger*
Louise & Leonard Riggio*
Joel Shapiro & Ellen Phelan*
Silvercup Studios*
Mr. & Mrs. Thomas W. Smith*

Roberta & Steve Denning*
Carol & Roger Einiger
Galerie Lelong & Co.*
Richard Gluckman & Tiffany Bell*
The Goldstone Family Kaufman Astoria Studios*
Mary Ann Keeler Joan Lazarus*
Phyllis Levin Sherry & Joel Mallin*
Ivana Mestrovic*
Pat & Nick Ohnell*
Brooke Kamin Rapaport & Richard A. Rapaport*
Ursula von Rydingsvard & Paul Greengard*
Amy Wolf*
Allan & Ray Ellen Yarkin

Vivien & David Collens
Richard Dennis
Lainey & Andy Fallek*
Hugh J. Freund
The Hill Gallery
Henry & Susan Johnson
Melanie A. Katzman & Russell E. Makowsky
Dorothy Lichtenstein
Jim Ottaway
Jr. Rockrose Development Corp.
Andrew Ruth*
Lauren Lopez Rutkowski
Katie Adams & Tony Schaeffer
Mike Pratt, The Scherman Foundation*
Manny & Jackie Silverman
Storm King Art Center*
Van Cleef & Arpels

Miles Bellamy
Jamie Bennett*
Jessica Dawson
Dun-Rite Specialized Carriers
EAB Fine Art Services*
Carol LeWitt
Sofia LeWitt
Deidrea Miller
Paula Pelosi*
Cynthia & Leon Polsky
Nancy Rosen*
JoAnne Rosen
Manny & Jackie Silverman*
Billie Tsien & Tod Williams*
Claire Weisz, WXY Studio
Donn & Lisa Zaretsky*

Carrie Rebora Barratt, Avis Berman, David Berliner, Susan Cahan, John Clem, Justin Conner, Earl Dismuke, Irena Hochman, Fitzhugh Karol, Helen Lessick, Michael Manjarris, Saul Melman, Yomaris Mercedes Pena, Lucy Sandler, Keith Sherman, Terry Skoda

*Special thanks to our 2018 Gala Host Committee!