Bild: Indigenous Kinship Collective führt eine Landanerkennung von Jeffrey Gibsons Denkmalinstallation „Because Once You Enter My House It Becomes Our House“ durch, Foto von Cut/Cut/Cut: Chelsea Knight & Itziar Barrio.

20. Januar – 23. März 2021 • 6–7 Uhr EST* • Online

* Aufführungszeit am 23. März TBA

Über uns

Pressemitteilung

Der Künstler Jeffrey Gibson stellte sich sein Projekt für den Park vor.DENKMÄLER JETZT' Ausstellung, 'Denn sobald Sie mein Haus betreten, wird es zu unserem Haus,' als Plattform, um marginalisierte Stimmen zu erheben, insbesondere die der indigenen Kreativen. Insbesondere lud Gibson ein Laura Ortmann, Emily Johnson und Rabe Chacon zusammenzuarbeiten und performative Aktivierungen für „Because Once You Enter My House It Becomes Our House“ zu schaffen.

Anpassung an die durch die Covid-19-Pandemie erforderlichen Sicherheitsbeschränkungen, Aktivierungen von 'Denn sobald Sie mein Haus betreten, wird es zu unserem Haus“ wurden online live gestreamt und auch in hochwertigen Dokumentarfilmen festgehalten. In den ersten drei Monaten des Jahres 2021 präsentiert Gibson eine Reihe von Online-Vorführungen, darunter eine Künstler- und Kuratorengespräch, die Premieren zweier Performance-Dokumentarfilme, an Künstler- und MitarbeitergesprächUnd eine live gestreamte Aufführung.

Ablauf

Im Gespräch: Künstler Jeffrey Gibson & Kurator Jess Wilcox

Premiere des Dokumentarfilms Laura Ortman

Premiere des Dokumentarfilms Emily Johnson

Im Gespräch: Jeffrey Gibson, Laura Ortman, Emily Johnson & Raven Chacon

Abgebrochen: Raven Chacon Performance Live-Stream

Unterstützung

Programmierung für Jeffrey Gibson's'Denn sobald Sie mein Haus betreten, wird es zu unserem Haus' wird ermöglicht durch die großzügige Unterstützung von VIA KunstfondsMertz-Gilmore-StiftungRoberts Projekte, Los Angeles; Kavi Gupta, Chicago; und Sikkema Jenkins & Co., New York. Ermöglicht wird dies auch mit Mitteln der NYSCA Electronic Media/Film in Partnerschaft mit Wave Farm: Media Arts Assistance Fund, mit der Unterstützung von Gouverneur Andrew Cuomo und der Legislative des Staates New York.

Image: Indigenous Kinship Collective performs a Land Acknowledgment from Jeffrey Gibson’s monument installation ‘Because Once You Enter My House It Becomes Our House,’ Photo by Cut/Cut/Cut: Chelsea Knight & Itziar Barrio.

January 20 – March 23, 2021  •  6-7pm EST*  •  Online

* March 23rd performance time TBA

About

Press Release

Artist Jeffrey Gibson envisioned his project for the Park’s ‘MONUMENTS NOW‘ exhibition, ‘Because Once You Enter My House It Becomes Our House,’ as a platform to elevate marginalized voices, particularly those of Indigenous creatives. elevate marginalized voices, particularly those of Indigenous creatives. Specifically, Gibson invited Laura Ortman, Emily Johnson, and Raven Chacon to collaborate and create performative activations for ‘Because Once You Enter My House It Becomes Our House.’

Adapting to the safety restrictions necessitated by the Covid-19 pandemic, activations of ‘Because Once You Enter My House It Becomes Our House‘ were live-streamed online and also captured in high-production-value documentary films. Over the first three months of 2021, Gibson presents a series of online screenings encompassing an Artist & Curator Conversation, the premieres of two performance documentary films, an Artist & Collaborator Conversation, and a live-streamed performance.

Schedule

In Conversation: Artist Jeffrey Gibson & Curator Jess Wilcox

Laura Ortman Performance Documentary Premiere

Emily Johnson Performance Documentary Premiere

In Conversation: Jeffrey Gibson, Laura Ortman, Emily Johnson, & Raven Chacon

Wednesday, March 3  •  6-7pm EST  •  On Zoom & Facebook Live

Raven Chacon Performance Live-Stream

Tuesday, March 23 (Rain Date: March 24)  •  Time TBA  •  On Zoom & Facebook Live

Support

Programming for Jeffrey Gibson‘s ‘Because Once You Enter My House It Becomes Our House‘ is made possible by generous support from VIA Art FundMertz Gilmore FoundationRoberts Projects, Los Angeles; Kavi Gupta, Chicago; and Sikkema Jenkins & Co., New York. It is also made possible with funds from the NYSCA Electronic Media/Film in Partnership with Wave Farm: Media Arts Assistance Fund, with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.